h1

Online Gaming While Deployed

October 21, 2008

So, I’m stuck here in northern Iraq and often find myself wanting to do some serious gaming. Sure, I have my PS3 and DS, and they do hold me over nicely, but the amount of money I have spent on games just isn’t worth the actual time they keep me occupied for. The only cure for this is online gaming, but alas, I have no way of doing that here. It’s not as if there isn’t internet (obviously); it’s simply the fact there is no internet fast enough for online gaming, and I have been looking at my Warhammer Online CE for over a month now and itching to play.

We haven’t had internet in our rooms for about seven months now, and when we did, it was so slow you could barely send an email. Time and time again, we have been told we will be getting better internet for our rooms, but I have yet to see this happen, and today, on the eve of having three months left, we are told “they” will be laying the rest of the lines for internet. Woohoo, right? No. They are going to be charging an upwards of $75 per month for what is most likely going to be shoddy internet. With only three months left, I probably won’t even bother. Look at it this way. I have Dead Space getting here any day now, and I preordered Fallout 3, so I’m figuring I should be set for three months. If not, I’ll just have to suffer through it.

Here’s what sucks though. I have been sitting on games like Army of Two and MGS4 for months now, and I’m wondering if the online modes of games like these are still going to be rocking when I get back. My PS3 has never seen an internet connection, and all my firmware updates are via new games I buy, so I’ll be a total PSN noob when I get back. I honestly have no clue what the longevity of a console games online mode is. I guess I just don’t want to come back and feel like I missed out on a games golden age. Either way, I know I can count on the MMO community to keep me going. In three months time, I’ll be neck deep in some serious WAR gaming!

Leave a Reply

